Attention

Spaces will be deprecated on September 1, 2026. After this date, you will no longer be able to create new spaces (existing spaces will continue to function normally). We recommending using file systems for cloud storage instead.

Spaces Administration#

Instructions for creating and configuring a space for cloud storage on CONVERGE Horizon are included below.

Create or Edit a Space#

To create a new space:

  1. Go to the Spaces page.

  2. Click Create Space in the upper right.

  3. Configure the space options.

  4. Click Create. A tile for the new space will be added to the Spaces page. When the status changes to Online, the space is ready for use.

To edit an existing space:

  1. Go to the Spaces page.

  2. Click the Edit Space (edit-button) button in the row for the space you want to edit.

  3. Configure the space options.

  4. Click Update.

Convert a Space to a File System#

When you convert a space to a file system, a new file system will be provisioned and all files in the space will be copied to the file system. The space is not automatically deleted when the conversion is done. You must delete the space manually after confirming that your data was successfully transferred to the new file system.

All jobs associated with the space must be stopped before you complete these steps:

  1. Go to the Spaces page.

  2. Click the Convert to File System (space-convert-button) button in the row for the space you want to convert.

  3. Specify the file system options for the new file system. It must be located in the same data center as the space.

  4. Click Create File System. CONVERGE Horizon will provision the new file system and then copy the contents of the space to the file system. During the conversion, you will not be able to access the space. The status of the space will change from Converting to Online when the conversion is done.

  5. Log in to the file system’s File Manager to verify that all files were copied from the space to the file system.

  6. Delete the space.

Empty a Space#

You can empty a space if you no longer need the data stored in it. This will permanently delete all files and directories from the space. After those files are deleted, the space will remain available for new files to be uploaded.

  1. Go to the Spaces page.

  2. Click the Empty Space (empty-space-button) button in the row for the space you want to empty.

  3. When prompted, enter the name of the space to confirm that you want to delete its contents.

  4. Click Empty.

Delete a Space#

You can delete a space if you are done using it. When you take this action, all files and directories are permanently deleted and the space is destroyed.

  1. Go to the Spaces page.

  2. Click the Delete Space (space-delete-button) button in the row for the space you want to delete.

  3. When prompted, enter the name of the space to confirm that you want to delete it.

  4. Click Delete.